Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 24th, 2007

I’ve never had so much meat in one sitting in my entire life.  I don’t know what possessed me to go to Churrascaria Plataforma, an all-you-can-eat Brazilian steakhouse with Arthur, Rich, and Jen one night.  Arthur basically convinced me to give it a try and just experience the atmosphere of the restaurant so we all went one day after work.  He knew that there’s no way in hell I’d be able to eat my money’s worth of meat – ever.  Before I continue, I should mention that Churrascaria serves grilled meats in a rodizio style, which means food is brought to you.  Basically, what happens is that each person gets a card that looks like a coaster, it’s red on one side and green on the other.  When the green side faces up, carvers will come by your table and each one will offer you a different cut of meat.  When the red side is up, it indicates to the carvers that you want them to stop coming to you, which probably means you want to spend some time eating your meat and not just letting it pile on your plate. 

churrascaria

Before the meat carving commences, each table is supplied with these cream puff look-alike breads filled with cheese called pão de queijo.  They’re warm so the cheese inside is soft, it’s great!  They were so light and fluffy too!  I wanted to ask for more, but knew that I definitely shouldn’t be filling up on this stuff!

bread with cheese

In between the bread basket, ordering of drinks, and the meat comes the buffet.  They call it a salad bar, but there’s a minimal salad selection.  This is also where one would get fish if one wanted to eat that instead of the carved meats.  Some of the highlights are sushi, where the fish was good but the rice was not, and a really good sundried tomato risotto.

sushi buffet-plate 1stuffed meat

RODIZIO STYLE MEATS!!!

There were soooo many different types of meats that the few pictures below only cover about half !  There were sirloin, lamb, beef ribs, baby back ribs, chicken wrapped in bacon, and pork.  Also, with stuff like the sirloin, depending on how well you want your meat done, they will cut it in a certain area due to the way the cook the meat.  I’d go with the pork chops, and the beef items, the ribs, but not the chicken or the lamb, which were both incidentally overdone.

meat meats
ribs moree
more meat more ribs

We couldn’t get away at an all-you-can-eat place without dessert!  At Churrascaria, there are different all-you-can-eat packages you can choose from.  It starts from the simplest package with just meat for $51.95 to a package with unlimited drinks, food, and desserts for $81.95.  I thought we were getting the package with dessert, so my friends and I basically went crazy when the dessert cart came by.  This brings me to the next brilliance of this place- one can probably sit here for an entire dinner and never once have to get up, after the salad bar that is.  They bring everything to you!  They wheeled us over a dessert cart and we ordered several desserts that we knew were available and not on the cart.  We got a fruit tart, some chocolate truffles, a pineapple sorbet in a real pineapple shell, a chocolate moouse, and some other stuffs.  We were pleased with almost all their desserts- I especially liked the tiramisu and the sorbet.  Needless to say, we were quite pleased and verrrrrrry stuffed afterwards! 

FYI:  Our desserts totally up to $50 alone. =X  whoops?

desserts

I’m really glad I got to experience Churrascaria.  I loved the way they have everything set up, and all the wonderful foods they offer.  If I was a meat lover, I’d be head over heels!  My favorite would probably be the dessert cart and the wait person walking around with the assortment of after-dinner beverages.  Tonight, I found a dessert wine that wasn’t too sweet for me – the Italian Brachetto!  Although this restaurant is more on the pricey side, it’s worth the splurge just to experience it once. 

Read Full Post »